Erika Kepler will be honored by the Nebraska Music Educators

Erika Kepler Headshot BWIn July, Erika Kepler (BM, 2015) was awarded a $1000 Student Teaching Grant by the Nebraska Music Educators Association. This competitive award given is a student from a Nebraska college or university who has successfully completed student teaching and has been a member of the collegiate chapter of the National Association for Music Education.

In her application essay, Erika wrote, “As my student teaching experience comes to an end and I begin preparing for my first teaching position this fall, I am filled with excitement. Through my practicum experiences, I have learned so much from my cooperating teachers as well as my university supervisors and I plan to take this new knowledge into my own classroom. By attending numerous conventions, such as NMEA and Regional ACDA, I have also been able to learn from educators outside of the metro area in order to broaden my knowledge and skills. Now that my undergraduate career is concluding, I am anxious, yet ecstatic to begin my journey as a first year teacher.”

Erika serves as the K-8 Vocal/General Music teacher in the Shelby-Rising City Public Schools. Ms. Kepler will be honored at the Nebraska Music Educators conference in November.

Leave a Reply

